Moreleta Kloof Nature Reserve

At the Johan and Lenda’s braai (barbeque), just a few days before Christmas, the talk turned to photography. Jeannie said, she has accumulated about 32 000 photos, taken in the Moreleta Kloof Nature reserve.

Since I’ve never visited there, I said to myself, it would be a good place to take some photos for my blog about Pretoria.

The reserve is located in the Eastern Suburbs of Pretoria – Moreleta Park. It is a 92ha home to various types of small game, e.g. Springbuck, Zebra, Blesbok, Impala and Ostrich.

It was 35°C  at half past ten on the hotish summer morning (quite late for a walk), when I park my car in front of the Rademeyers restaurant. Being here for the first time, I had to ask for the start of the walk. Back to the gate and I started on Duiker walk. Met only a young mom with her small daughters, one in pram.

Walked through the open field, and path shaded by trees for hour and a half and enjoyed, the basically new experience to me immensely. Had three glasses of ice water and a beer in restaurant bar at the conclusion of my walk.

Shall come again for the longer walks and more exploration.

My images here are just infinitesimal fraction of Jeannie’s photo collection.  Her photographs on FB are truly inspirational, showing her love for the place.

